General Employee Retirement Board


  • 1 p.m.
  • Last Wednesday of every month
  • City Hall
    75 King Street
    Human Resources Conference Room, 2nd Floor, Elevator D
    St. Augustine, FL 32085

Meeting Schedule

  • February 27, 2019
  • May 29, 2019
  • August 28, 2019
  • November 20, 2019


Employee Representatives

  • David Birchim, Vice-Chairperson
    P.O. Box 210
    St. Augustine, FL 32085-0210
  • Stephen Slaughter
    P.O. Box 210
    St. Augustine, FL 32085-0210

Officers & Consultants

  • Jeffrey W. Helms, Chairman/Administrative Officer
    400 N Ponce de Leon Boulevard
    St. Augustine, FL 32084
  • Darlene Galambos, Secretary/City Clerk
    City of St. Augustine
    P. O. Box 210
    St. Augustine, FL 32085
  • Mark Litzinger, Treasurer/Director, Financial Services
    City of St. Augustine
    P.O. Box 210
    St. Augustine, FL 32085
  • Warren Butler
    49 Sylvan Drive
    St. Augustine, FL 32084
  • Mark Simpson, Plan Administrator
    24 Cathedral Place
    Suite 407
    St. Augustine, FL 32084
  • Nancy Rawson
    P.O. Box 210
    St. Augustine, FL 32085
  • Jeffrey Swanson
    Southeastern Advisory Services
    320 1st Street N
    Jacksonville, FL 32250
  • Michael Tierney
    Actuarial Concepts
    3020 Hartley Road
    Jacksonville, FL 32257

Member Information

The five-member board includes two members appointed by the City Commission, two representatives who are elected by members of the General Employees' Retirement System and one who is appointed by the other four members. Elected and appointed members serve four-year staggered terms.

About the Board

The board is responsible for the general administration, management, and proper operation of the general employees' retirement system.