More News

Deadline for nominations is Friday, March 8

The St. Augustine community is well known for historic preservation. After all, we have more to save than most, and we have been serious about saving longer than most.

So when the Florida Trust for Historic Preservation (FTHP) announces the opening of its annual Statewide Preservation Awards Program, the St. Augustine community answers every year with a wide variety nominations and nearly every year brings home awards in nearly every facet of historic preservation. 

FTHP is currently accepting applications for its 2019 awards program which recognizes significant contributions to the preservation of Florida's historic resources by awarding outstanding historic preservation projects, programs and achievements by individuals and organizations.

The award program is open to any individual, organization, business or agency that is involved in historic preservation in Florida. There is no limit on the number of nominations that one applicant can submit. While nominations of individuals may be made without the knowledge of the nominee, and self-nominations will be accepted, in order for properties to be nominated the owner must provide written consent.

The award categories are: Restoration/Rehabilitation, Adaptive Use, Infill Design, Green Buildings, Archaeology, Historic Landscape, Organizational Achievement, Master Craftsman, and Preservation Education/Media.

Additionally, there are two categories that will honor individuals for their work in historic preservation: the Roy E. Graham Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation Education, and the Individual Distinguished Service Award.

The Florida Trust is also accepting nominations for its 11 to Save program as part of its Florida Preservation Conference. Inclusion on the list is a starting point for our advocacy and education efforts, and are intended to be part of a collaborative effort to identify custom solutions for each property. The Trust encourages the submission of historic places that represent the diversity of our state's extraordinary stories, communities, histories and architectural types.

Deadline for nominations for both 11 to Save and its historic preservation awards is Friday, March 8 and will be awarded at the 2019 Florida Preservation Conference in Pensacola on May 17.

For more information visit the Florida Trust for Historic Preservation’s web site at, or contact Jenny Wolfe, the city's Historic Preservation Officer and member of the FTHP Board of Trustees by phone at 904.825.1065 or by email at