More News

Roxanne Horvath elected to lead Florida Regional Councils Association

HorvathFRCASt. Augustine City Commissioner Roxanne Horvath is the new president of the Florida Regional Councils Association (FRCA) having been unanimously elected during the statewide association’s January meeting. The FRCA is the statewide organization of the 10 regional planning councils, including the NEFRC.

Horvath, who is on the FRCA’s Legislative Policy Committee, is currently the Immediate Past President of the Northeast Florida Regional Council (NEFRC) where she serves on the Executive Committee and the Affordable Housing Ad-Hoc Committee. As the new president of the FRCA, she wants to identify issues common to all the regional councils and seek cooperative solutions and would like to see the association address the ongoing needs for affordable housing.

Florida’s 67 counties are represented by 10 regional councils that serve as a conduit for information sharing and problem solving for local governments. In addition to Northeast Florida Regional Council which includes St. Johns County, the others are Apalachee, Central Florida, East Florida, North Central Florida, South Florida, Southwest Florida, Tampa Bay, Treasure Coast and West Florida.

In her new position, Horvath will represent the FRCA with related organizations including the National Association of Regional Councils, National Association of Development Organizations, and Southeast Regional Directors Institute.

Prior to her election to the St. Augustine City Commission in 2012, Horvath’s public service included terms as both member and chair of the city’s Planning and Zoning Board, Historic Architectural Review Board, Code Enforcement Board, Entry Corridor Board and chaired the city’s visioning initiative, Visioning 2014 & Beyond.  Horvath, currently principal of Roxanne Horvath, AIA, Archtect, she served as the city’s vice mayor 2014-2016.