More News

Selection for seven-member committee scheduled for City Commission's January 22 meeting

Along with its decision to not remove the city’s memorial to the Confederate dead, the St. Augustine City Commission last October also decided to add a more complete and fully accurate history of the period represented by the memorial.

To manage that task, the Commission agreed to the formation of a seven member Confederate Memorial Contextualization Advisory Committee. For six weeks, ending with a December 29 deadline, the City Clerk’s office received applications from people volunteering to serve on the committee and today announced that 39 applications have been received.

Those applications will now be reviewed by City Manager John Regan who will then recommend to the City Commission seven applicants to serve on the committee. That recommendation is scheduled for the Commission’s January 22 meeting. In his presentation to the Commission in October, Regan suggested the members would include, among others, those who had credentials as historians, educators, heritage tourism professionals and artists.

The committee’s task, also as outlined by Regan, will include identifying gaps in the telling of the city’s Civil War history and how to reconcile those gaps, seeking public input on a plan for contextualization recommending a contextualization plan and its implementation; and providing cost and financing options that may be needed.

The committee’s initial meeting date and subsequent schedule will be announced after the Commission names the members.

Those who submitted applications to serve on the committee are: Joel Bagnal, J. Michael Butler, Sharyn Wilson Smith Coley, Ralph Collinson, Stephen Danner, Elizabeth A. Dove, Louis J. Geanuleas, Thomas Graham, Kenneth Grissom, Karen Harvey, Rebecca Howell, Thomas Jackson, Bruce Kendeigh, William B. Lees, Matthew Ryan Lempke, Marty Lewis, George Linardos, Kenneth Maass, Jane Marshall, Jason Mauro, Charla Brown Mcklevey, Robert Nimmons, Courtney Olson, Jill M. Pacetti, Susan Richbourg Parker, Jamie D. Perkins, Regina Gayle Phillips, Melinda Rakoncay, Ron Rawls, Margaret Kaler Reynolds, Donald Roberts, Drew Sappington, Ed Slavin, Keith W. Schlegel, Peter G. Shutters, Tigenia Taylor, James Willow, Richard White and Andrew Witt.